10,000 Baby Names: Review and Giveaway

* comp now closed my winners are Jodie kelly Emma margaret Anji and Sally*


 I have 6 copies of this fab baby name book by Holly Ivinds (White Ladder: 2010) to give away to lucky readers. What a nice gift this would make for a pregnant pal too – there is certainly a lot of choice here!

(White Ladder publish / sell tons of great books related to kids, do take a look at their website here)

The book is jam packed with popular baby names, the latest celebrity choices and names making a comeback.

Lots on meaning and origin, funny names and names you want to be avoiding! It looks at middle names, inmitials and nicknames and it is a clear easy read. great stuff.

Anna Sassin? Perhaps not!

But a good one for a book reviewer:  Paige Turner!

Oh I do love a good baby name book! I drove my hubby mad with these when I was pregant. The name that I loved and he would never agree to was Taliesin. I still think about it

Competition

In order to be in with a chance of winning just let me know what baby name did you never get to give? UK entrants only please. Competiton closes midnight Weds 15 December 2010. 

P.s This same comp is running at my other blog www.bookreviewsformums.co.uk where there are another 6 of these fab books to be won if you want to double your chances!.

Follow:

34 Comments

  1. Carolina J.
    December 9, 2010 / 4:55 pm

    Leonidas!

  2. jodie
    December 10, 2010 / 9:48 am

    Well, i havent had mine yet, but already the other half has vetoed Willow for a girl. I love the name but he says no.

  3. Rebecca
    December 10, 2010 / 12:51 pm

    I love Noah, but a friend of mine has just taken that name!

  4. Cheryll H
    December 10, 2010 / 12:56 pm

    I love the name Tilly. I have had 2 girls and both of them haven’t got that name because my other half has a friend with a daughter called Matilda! It’s the same with most names though, if he knows someone whose child (or grandchild/sister/brother etc etc) has the same name it’#s a big fat no! As you can imagine, my girls don’t have well known names!

  5. Elaine Jones
    December 10, 2010 / 1:14 pm

    If I had had a boy then he would be called luis but had a girl and named her Luisa so near enough!

  6. shane weir
    December 10, 2010 / 1:50 pm

    sawyer or almeyda

  7. Carole C
    December 10, 2010 / 1:52 pm

    Gabriel was in the running for a boy, but my husband hated it – luckily we had a baby girl.

  8. dianne parrinder
    December 10, 2010 / 2:43 pm

    l would call my little girl ‘Summer’

  9. Margaret
    December 10, 2010 / 2:47 pm

    Willow.
    My niece & myself were pregnant at the same time, due within days of each other. We both picked Willow for a girl. 20 scan showed i was having a boy & she’s having a girl.
    So she’s using that 🙁 & now she’s using it i can’t use it if i ever have a girl.
    Have loved that name for years.
    Wouldn’t have minded so much if her & my sister-in-law weren’t so damn smug about it.

  10. Julie Brett
    December 10, 2010 / 3:12 pm

    I like Lucy

  11. Karen
    December 10, 2010 / 3:34 pm

    Wendy

  12. Claire Macmanus
    December 10, 2010 / 4:10 pm

    Choosing a boys name was a nightmare in this house. Partner had lots of names i didnt like, Denver, Dakota, Harlem (YES! HARLEM!), Tiger (hands on my face) and Mclaren. I liked Devin or Mylo (but apparently Mylo is a “Tweenie Name”). Fortunately we had a girl, and choosing her name was simple!

  13. emma cella
    December 10, 2010 / 6:09 pm

    I like fleur

  14. Solange
    December 10, 2010 / 6:30 pm

    Ariadne

  15. Wendy Davison
    December 10, 2010 / 6:43 pm

    I would have chosen Ryan or Guy for my son…but my husband (who is now my ex) said…’no way’!

  16. Katherine Grieve
    December 10, 2010 / 6:56 pm

    Oliver Harrison

  17. chyna lindfield
    December 10, 2010 / 8:54 pm

    I like the name Asia so much, but since my name is Chyna, its a bit of a no-no!

  18. Emma Steigmann
    December 11, 2010 / 1:04 am

    I loved the name Sheridan for a girl but I didn’t really think of that name until I was preganant with my 2nd and he was a boy plus my hubby hates it! I also wanted Jody for a boy or Cody for a girl but again hubby said no!

  19. lynda sanderson
    December 11, 2010 / 1:36 am

    The name I didn’t use was Gayle for a girl and Neil for a boy

  20. Rhoda
    December 11, 2010 / 10:58 am

    We are hoping that some day we will get to name our first child. However the same I’ve always wanted since being a wee girl has been ruled out due to hubby’s surname. I wanted Duncan Iain, but since our surname starts with a “K” I’m not allowed due to the initials!!

  21. amy g
    December 11, 2010 / 11:40 am

    Mason, I love it but hubby says no!

  22. Victoria Boland
    December 11, 2010 / 1:43 pm

    Pia for a girl.

  23. Ellie Peabody
    December 11, 2010 / 7:10 pm

    I’ve always liked Alex for a boy and Daisy for a girl

  24. Sharon Witney
    December 12, 2010 / 1:12 pm

    I wanted Amber for my first daughter but she ended up being Jasmin

  25. Jade
    December 12, 2010 / 3:28 pm

    My lovely partner has also given Taliesin the big thumbs down, along with Oisin for a boy. He’s mainly fine with my picks for girls. A long-term favourite, Mia, is going to be out for a girl as my sister has used Leah along with Ruby etc for girls seeing as my name is Jade. Maybe I’ll try and sneak them in as middle names!

  26. Suzanne sendell
    December 12, 2010 / 6:10 pm

    i WANTED iNDIA FOR A GIRL ON MY LAST PREGNANCY 11 YEARS AGO BUT I HAD A LITTLE BOY

  27. Anji Petersen
    December 12, 2010 / 9:35 pm

    Zola

  28. EMMA WALTERS
    December 13, 2010 / 2:35 pm

    i loved the name harrison but someone at work named their son this, trying to decide on another boys name but its so difficult!!!

  29. December 13, 2010 / 8:05 pm

    Oh this would come in very handy right now. I really liked Harry but Mr C said it was too popular last time.

  30. Heather Shaw
    December 13, 2010 / 8:11 pm

    Sandy… It would have made our daughter Sandy Shaw! Lol 🙂

  31. JULIE PANNELL
    December 14, 2010 / 2:28 pm

    I LOVED THE NAME KINGSLEY FOR A BOY AND PRINCESS FOR A GIRL

  32. Donna
    December 14, 2010 / 4:39 pm

    Nina was totally rejected by my hubby

  33. Zara J
    December 14, 2010 / 11:03 pm

    Emilie 🙂

  34. Sally Willcock
    December 14, 2010 / 11:54 pm

    Gosh, we had lots of girls names and we had 2 boys. I liked Esme, Martha, Matilda, ……. I could go on and on.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge